Tag Archives: Bruntwood Prize

Winner of Bruntwood Prize announced – Anna Jordan for ‘Yen’

Anna Jordan has been announced as the winner of the 2013 Bruntwood Prize, which she received for her script Yen.  She takes home a £16,000 grand prize.

Three runners up, winners of the Judges’ Awards, will receive £8,000 each to recognize their achievement:

  • Katharine Chandler for Bird
  • Luke Norris for So Here We Are
  • Chris Urch for Rolling Stone

All four of these winners will receive development opportunities with the Manchester Royal Exchange, and any finalist plays that receive productions will be published by Nick Hern Books.

You can read more details about the winners, their submitted plays, and see the top 10 shortlist of writers on the Bruntwood Prize website.


Source:  The Stage

2013 Bruntwood Prize Competition

The Bruntwood Prize is a competition managed by The Royal Exchange Theatre in Manchester.  It’s open to playwrights across the UK.  The prize has a comprehensive website, featuring everything from submission guidelines, to writing inspiration, to FAQ, to pointers from past winners.  Be sure to make use of this resource before submitting.

What to submit: An original, unperformed full-length play.  Only one submission per writer will be accepted.  Note that plays MUST be submitted under a pseudonym – see website for full details.

What you win: The winner of the 2013 prize will receive £16,000 and a year-long attachment at the Royal Exchange Theatre.  There will also be three Judges’ Awards of £8,000 each. All four award winners will have the chance to develop their play with the Royal Exchange, with a view to production. In addition, leading theatre publishers Nick Hern Books will publish all winning plays that receive a production at the Exchange.  The top 100 plays will receive a feedback report from the Royal Exchange.

Closing date: 3 June 2013